The Final Quarter

Its Monday, the start of a new work week. I struggle to get out of bed around 6:00 AM but that’s a typical Monday. I head out the door and start my drive to one of the schools I work at. So far so good. I stop at the Starbucks that is always slow, and worry I may not make it to work on time. I pull into the parking lot. The parking lot is empty, extremely strange for a normal school day, but then I remember today is not normal at all. I look down at my watch and it is almost 9 AM, a little late to be showing up for a typical day of work.

I begin walking towards the building, adjusting my mask, and see chalk signs a student of mine and their family created saying words like “We Miss you” and “We love you,” odd considering the school year hasn’t ended. I walk into the building and its pitch black, and instantly I feel like I am in a scene of a bad horror movie. I have to use the flashlight on my phone to get around. Usually when I arrive I hear the voices of students and teachers, but this time, only silence.

I get to my office, and it is also dark. Things are exactly where I left them 2 months ago to the date. My kind co-worker/ roommate is not there to greet me like she normally would be. I set down my drink and begin packing away my things. I chuckle when I find the stapler that got broken a few months ago, pack away the mermaid-unicorn puzzle I bought with one of my students in mind, and smile remembering the fun my students had playing with my Legos and Sneaky Snacky Squirrel game. I also feel sad, realizing I won’t get the opportunity to say goodbye to many of my students and co-workers.

I turn the light off and leave the now partially empty room. I say a brief goodbye at a distance, to one of my amazing co-workers and I go to my car and sit for a while, reflecting on the past few months. I am reminded that in a few days, I will have to do the same process again at my other school.

A time a year that is normally filled with field days and 5th grade farewells is now quiet and spent learning lessons and socializing with teachers and classmates through a computer screen.

This is certainly not the way I imagined that my first year as an SLP would end, however this time has taught me to be patient and flexible. This first year taught me a whole lot more than I could have ever imagined months ago.

Even though things ended this way I have hope for a better tomorrow where kids can laugh with their friends and enjoy being at school again.

Sincerely,

-HoHSpeechie

Leave a comment