When Life Hands You Lemons…

What two weeks this has been for our state, our schools, our nation, and our world… It is hard to wrap your head around all the news and all the changes to our everyday lives. We received the news, in my home state, about a week ago that our physical school doors would be shuttering for the rest of the school year. Many of us have barely left our homes for fear of becoming sick.

For me this has caused, stress as i wasn’t sure what the plan for my speech services would be, anxiety for what was to come, and saddness, as I will not be able to physically say goodbye to my students, as I will be changing locations and positions due to my personal life. I especially worry for a student with high medical needs, and finally can understand what it is like to be homebound. These emotions have certainly taken its toll.

I am also praying for all of the OTs, PTs, SLPs, nurses, doctors, respiratory therpists services who still have to be physically on deck during this time. When we get to be at home, these individuals are working hard to help to ease the pain of many.

On another lighter note I am also hoping beyond hope nothing dramatic happens with my hearing aids,as it would be difficult to get them fixed right now, although I hear a rumor that audiologists can work magic from a computer remotely.

If you do happen to get sick during this time and you have a hearing loss make sure to communicate this the best way possible to medical personnel. I have had doctors be shocked when I tell them I have hearing loss, but maybe communicating this would improve overall care!

So what can I do during this time as an SLP? I can check in with my students and their families to provide them support that they need. I can pursue some continuous learning opportunities to sharpen my knowledge. Thank you ASHA for allowing us access to continued education! I can prepare myself for my next position and I can be thankful for the blessings I have everyday, such as my family and a roof over my head.

I know this is a trying time for everyone and it is hard to adjust to a new normal, so if you are an SLP or enjoy reading my blog updates and you need someone right now to vent to or collaborate with, don’t hesitate to reach out for me. For all of SLPs and other service providers, who are having to navigate how our services are offered, hang in there!

If you are a parent with a child with hearing loss, or need some advice regarding your child’s communication disorders, there are an army of SLP’s wanting to help as well as so many great resources out there. I know you didn’t plan to be your students part time speech teacher!

If you are a military spouse, SLP or not, and you are dealing with PCS stress or being seperated from your loved one, or just dealing with the difficulties of this lockdown, I will lend you my ear, I understand.

This is a time for us as SLP’s, people, and as a country to come together, and turn those lemons into lemonade and to make the best of the situation we are currently in, and hope that we come out on the other side better than we were before.

Stay healthy and wash your hands!

– HoHSpeechie

Some much needed SLP humor

Leave a comment